Map showing Gaza

The duty to return to Gaza, after receiving a final rejection of application for a residence permit, is temporarily suspended. This means that no one is being forcibly returned there now.

The Norwegian Immigration Appeals Board (UNE) has from 18.10. 2023 to 17.04. 2024 decided to temporarily suspend applicants' duty to return to Gaza after receiving a rejection of their application for a residence permit. 

This is due to the ongoing war between Israel and Hamas and the deterioration of both the security and the humanitarian situation in Gaza. The suspension does not apply to the West Bank.

To whom does this suspension apply?

The suspension of the duty to return means that, until further notice, applicants who have received a final decision to return to Gaza are not required to comply with the decision to leave the country. 

The decision applies both to former asylum seekers and to persons who have a duty to return following the rejection of an application for residence pursuant to other parts of the regulatory framework.

UNE does not put on hold cases which applies to the suspension of returns to Gaza and will continue to process applications as normal.

UNE is closely monitoring the situation

In order for UNE to monitor the development of the conflict and to gain a necessary overview of the situation, the decision of suspension will last for up to 6 months. During this period, UNE will continuously assess the return situation to Gaza, and decide whether to lift or to prolong the suspension. Within four weeks before these six months expires, UNE will have assessed whether to prolong or upheave the suspension.

The suspension does not apply to Dublin-cases 

The suspension does not apply to persons covered by the Dublin-III Regulation, or the first asylum country rule.

These applicants are still obliged to return to the first European country in which they launched their asylum application, where their application for protection will be considered.

The National Police Immigration Service has been notified 

UNE does not have a full overview of the total number of nationals from Gaza who are living in Norway without legal residence. UNE has about 20 cases registered that may involve an assessment of returns to Gaza.

The National Police Immigration Service has been notified that no persons in the above-mentioned group are to be forcibly deported from Norway.